Does Bread Have Eggs? Can Vegans Eat Bread For Breakfast?

Sarah Owens

By Sarah Owens

Last updated:

Being a vegan, aside from tons of benefits, does come at a small cost: they have to clarify the ingredients first before digging in, even with everyday foods like bread as there might be eggs inside.

As someone who has dug deep into wheat bread of all kinds, I can tell you whether white bread is vegan or not. Keep scrolling for my answer.

Does Bread Contain Eggs? Is It Vegetarian?

Most basic bread recipes do not contain eggs and are vegetarian, with major ingredients being water, sugar, yeast, salt, and flour. Whether you wish to add egg to enhance the flavor and texture is up to you, but eggs are never considered compulsory.

Does Bread Have Eggs

Some bread types with the absence of eggs include whole wheat bread, white bread, rye bread, sourdough bread, pumpernickel bread, ciabatta bread, or potato bread. I will explain the ingredient profile of some other popular types in the next parts.

There are several reasons why eggs have never been integrated into the bread formula.

For one, it is due to the egg’s undue influence on the bread yeast. Yeast ferments the bread dough, creating an airy texture that gives the bread a tangier flavor.

With the eggs added to that process, the yeast will double to the point of becoming excessive – which fans of challah or brioche certainly will not appreciate.

Secondly, eggs do contain moderate fat levels. While a little fat can offer richness and moisture to baked food, it isn’t really necessary for dairy products/ staple food like bread.

Not to mention, certain people are allergic to eggs, facing both digestive reactions and disturbances. Removing eggs from the bread allows manufacturers and local bakers to approach a broader demographic; the customers can choose to add or buy eggs by themselves later if desired.

My family is an example: our children love eating egg-containing bread, while my husband and I are vegans. Buying commercial bread and eggs separately is the safest middle ground for everyone.

Does Yeast Have Eggs? Is It Vegetarian Bread?

No, there are no eggs in yeast bread. Their primary components are flour, sugar, water, and yeast. As such, they are wonderful choices for those following vegan diets, containing zero animal-derived substances.

Does yeast have eggs

As its name suggests quite clearly, yeast is the most important ingredient in the formula. To make tasty yeast bread at home, I start the process by combining yeast with sugar and warm water, which stimulates the yeast’s multiplication to release carbon dioxide.

After blending with other dry ingredients, they give me an airy, soft bread loaf my children cannot stop gushing over for days!

Furthermore, there is also a kind of nutritional yeast (referred to by many vegans as “Nooch,” a dry and deactivated version of saccharomyces cerevisiae. Compared to regular yeast, it introduces several more ingredients to the fermentation, such as protein, zinc, selenium, folic acid, and vitamin Bs.

As a result, nutritional yeast bread has become a powerhouse for a wide range of dieters – vegan or non-vegan alike. Incorporating it into daily diets is a common practice for not only my family but millions of households worldwide as well – and I bet will likely remain so for decades to come.

Does Pita Bread Have Egg In It?

Although traditional pita bread recipes did not contain any eggs, modern products have started to include eggs to expand pita’s demographics to non-vegan as well. If you are a strict vegan, check out the ingredients list to confirm.

Does Pita Bread Have Egg

And it is not just eggs that vegans should worry about; other animal-based ingredients might also be present!

More specifically, in conventional pita manufacturing, labels often use binding agents to enhance cohesion and texture. These bindings include xanthan, cellulose, or guar gum, which are traditionally vegan-friendly and result from bacterial fermentation.

However, to save costs, some middle-range companies have started switching the bindings for cheaper alternatives; animal fat contents are an example, and they clearly are far from vegan.

As such, I always tell my husband to verify the ingredient list carefully – even when the pita bread is manufactured by brands already familiar to the two of us. Who knows what would happen, after all? And my hubby eventually rules it out from his fav food list.

Does Naan Bread Have Eggs?

Unfortunately, most naan bread products do have eggs and, hence, aren’t vegan. A quick look at their packages’ ingredient lists is enough to disappoint devoted vegans, as they usually contain numerous non-vegan substances besides eggs, too.

Does Naan Bread Have Eggs

To make sure you do not spend money on the wrong products, remember that vegan naan bread only entails the most basic ingredients, such as:

  • Salt
  • Water
  • Flour
  • Yeast
  • (Optional) Vegan spread in the dough or used alongside the naan bread

In some cases, flavor enhancers like sugar, herbs, garlic, or others (guaranteed they are all vegan) are also included. I’ve even catched some naan bread packages in the supermarket that include baking powder or coconut-based yogurt for a fluffy and light texture.

Always remember to inspect the ingredients, vegan labels (if there are any), or brand precautions. That way, you can enjoy naan’s delightful textures without compromising your vegan principles.

Does Sourdough Bread Have Eggs?

Traditional sourdough doesn’t consist of eggs, with only three simple ingredients: water, salt, and flour. Vegans seeking or making basic sourdough can be confident in their vegan-friendliness. But there are some variants, so checking the ingredients is key.

Does Sourdough Bread Have Eggs

Some of the variations might add eggs and other animal-based ingredients to offer new textures and flavors. Products with the following ingredients are definitely NOT vegetarian:

  • Milk, eggs, butter, cream, buttermilk
  • Lard, ghee, margarine, honey, casein whey
  • Caseinate, casein, sodium caseinate

The following ingredients can either be plant- or animal-derived, so the best bet is to look for reviews or ask the manufacturers yourself:

  • DATEM (Diacetyl Tartaric Esters of Monoglyceride)
  • Lecithin
  • Diglycerides and mono-glycerides

Does Ezekiel Bread Have Eggs?

No, it does not. Unlike other commercial, quick bread, Ezekiel is dense, nutritional vegan bread made from organically developed legumes and sprouted grains. No sugar, honey, eggs, or dairy is contained – a true protein source for vegan eaters.

Does Ezekiel Bread Have Eggs

Other health benefits are also noteworthy: most other bread products use all-purpose flour in the formula, while Ezekiel ones use four kinds of cereal: spelt, barley, wheat, and millet. As such, the fiber level is super impressive (4 grams per slice);

I always include them in my family’s daily breakfast (not just any special occasions) to ensure everyone’s blood sugar is kept in check – though my naughty kids sometimes cry for some honey, cheese, or peanut butter on top.

But interestingly, I found that peanut butter pairs just well with the bread; No cheese or honey, of course! My hubby and I are both genuine vegans.

How to Tell if A Bread Contains Egg Products or Not?

Look for the “vegan” or “vegetarian” label on the package. Or else, the quickest method is simply to check whether the ingredient lists contain any eggs. If there are any, consider egg replacements or turning to another recipe.

And if you buy the bread from local bakers, well… just ask them! Most bakers never lie to me about the substances used in the bread formula, especially when I confess that I’m a vegan. Some will even include warning labels right in the first place, which clearly specify that this bread contains nuts, milk, eggs, etc.

Meanwhile, for regular shopping at supermarkets or at bread aisles, I suggest checking the packaging’s ingredient labels.

Bread containing eggs will be yellow or arrive in red packages/ red dots. Still, no one can be 100% certain about that, so reading the labels is still the safest precaution.

What Are The Best Type of Bread Brands to Try for Vegans?

To avoid the hassles of checking the ingredient list/identifying egg breads, you can simply entrust your family meals to Dave’s or Food for Life. They are both vegan-friendly while not sacrificing the flavors.

Dave’s Killer Bread

Fans of flavorful, hearty bread with no gummy fillers would definitely fall in love with Dave’s.

Their loaves arrive with numerous size and flavor options. Containing only quality and organic ingredients, Dave’s gives no room for health issues to flourish. It is also a lovely choice for vegans! I occasionally stock some packages of this brand but not as frequently as the brand Food for Life.

Foods for Life

Foods for Life has been the mastermind behind numerous successful vegan bread lines, which all comprise organic, non-GMO substances to cater to the high demands of animal-free recipes.

Some of their gluten-free bread products also cover sprouted grains. Their selling points in both nutrient boosts and extra flavors make Foods for Life a trustworthy brand worth trying out. Now you know why I fall for their products, right?


There is traditionally no egg in bread recipes, although exceptions can still be spotted, given people’s diverse taste buds and preferences. To confirm whether it is made with eggs, never forget to check the labels and packaging.

For more clarifications on bread or other vegan foods, feel free to contact us.

Share on:

Sarah Owens
Sarah Owens
Baker & Owner At BK17 Bakery

Sarah Owens is a professional baker with an insatiable curiosity for global food traditions. As the owner of BK17 Bakery, an artisan microbakery specializing in sourdough that serves both NYC and Louisville, Sarah believes strongly in the power of baking to foster community, social change, and stone milling can bring good bread back to the table.

Leave a Comment